“He used me by kissing me”

-Alex London

In the new kind of society, the system is twisted. There’s Knox who belonged to the class of Patron – a group of wealthy family. He has every new technology in the country, huge house, and a well-known father. Then, there’s Syd, a Proxy –slave who were born and sold to the Patron of the same age. If Knox did something bad whether it is big or small, his proxy will take responsibility for it. And he was entitled to watch Syd while he’s being punished.

After years of patience, Syd can finally buy his freedom and leave his troublemaker Patron. Until Knox has been in an accident and led Syd to be sentenced to death.

Neither the two is aware of their similarities. Still, Knox helped Syd ran away. But in order to get both of them away from the society, they realized that they need each other; they have to protect each other because Syd is no ordinary Proxy and Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron.

Secrets started to unfold. One that can lead every proxy their freedom. But in every cause, there’s a sacrifice. Will Syd help every proxy have their freedom? Will Knox, as one of the patrons, let him? What will be their resolve?

 

 

Confession:

Proxy is set in a dystopian world in the future.

The way London described the society through this novel just explained the difference in each status in life, the usual struggle of common people, and how the media and the government control the country and fed us some manipulated information.Honestly, this book is the easiest novel to read. It is because of London’s writing style. There are some terminologies that I didn’t know, though. Still, it wasn’t a big factor for me to not understand what was being narrated. The first chapters have really cool scenes. One reason why I wanted to know more about it.

Honestly, this book is the easiest novel to read (except the previous romance story that I’ve read). It is because of London’s writing style. There are some terminologies that I didn’t know, though. Still, it wasn’t a big factor for me to not understand what was being narrated.

The first few chapters have really cool scenes. One reason why I wanted to know more about Knox and Syd.

I like Knox and Syd when they are exchanging dialogues (but as an individual person? Nope). Their character profile isn’t perfect and it’s a little bit of cliché. But they seemed to be real people like they have their own lives beyond the book.

Then there’s one scene where… oh my god! It’s a shocker! Maybe I’m being biased, but there’s no boring scene in this book. It was really entertaining and funny. I like how the “romance” have been tweaked.

Even if the book is predictable, the turn of events is hard to absorb. I want to read the next book because I’ve enjoyed reading the first one. But I just love the first book too much and it’s hard for me to move on to another book.

This is not just about friendship, society, and a little bit of flirting. It also reflected the basic human emotions which made the characters ‘probably’ real. Not in this timeline, but in the future.

Reading Proxy gave me a different romance story.

