“Every family needs a rebel. Let’s be honest, You’d be bored without me”

-Kiera Cass

In the middle of the sea, there are creatures that we thought exists only in our books. From afar, captivating voices of maidens calling out the people; drowning them deep into the sea; satisfying the ocean’s wish in exchange for their lives. Not only in the ocean but walking through the street is even more dangerous when ordinary people hear them speak. That’s how Kahlen lives for many thousands of years.

Then there’s Akinli who once passed by her, but ended up wanting to stay. Day by day, the two started to share something deeper than words; something more powerful than the ocean; something only two people with the same feeling can understand – love.

What will happen to them if the ocean knew? Is love really that powerful?

 

 

 

Confession:

Okay. First of all, I don’t like romance novels. Honestly speaking, Siren is nice. It was like a classic story brought into the modern time.

But I didn’t enjoy reading stories with more narration than dialogues especially if the dialogues can already show the development of the relationship between the leading characters. Unfortunately, Siren was just one of them.

So, for the moments of Kahlen and Akinli, I didn’t feel anything, other than boredom. I didn’t see how their bond gets stronger with just emotions. In reality, it would need verbal communication. But in other aspects, communication is not just through speaking. So, I guess I understand why it was written that way.I like the other relationship showed in the story, though. Kahlen to the ocean, to her “sisters”, and of course her hope for humanity (wow big word haha). I actually cried at the moment when Ocean knew about

I like the other relationship showed in the story, though. Kahlen to the ocean, to her “sisters”, and of course her hope for humanity (wow big word). I actually cried at the moment when Ocean knew about Akinli. I understand her. She was an ocean. She can be so serene, and sometimes aggressive, and disastrous.

My only favorite part in this book is when the Sirens are with Ocean, I feel like I was them when I’m at the beach in my hometown. One reason why at some point I kept reading this book.

The story is somewhat different from Kiera Cass’ series (though I’ve already read this novel before Kiera even published her first series). Here, love has been more justified in each point of view. So, this story might not be as great as the others, but there’s something inside this novel which makes it worth your time.

