“Right up until I knew it was ending. That was when I realized, as terrifying and painful as reality can be, it’s also the only place where you can find true happiness. Because reality is real”

-Ernest Cline

 

In the year 2044, the real world is uglier than the virtual game. OASIS is a virtual utopia which is almost the new reality for the people.

Wade Watt devoted himself to reveal the hidden treasure through unlocking the puzzles behind each level. It was the last update of OASIS by its creator. Whoever find this hidden treasure was promised to have fortune and power. But when he cleared the first clue, people who are willing to kill for the treasure comes running to him. But it wasn’t just Wade. Art3mis (a legendary player), Aech (his best friend), and also Daito and Shoto (online samurai brothers) who first found the Copper Key have their life at stake.

Will he be able to survive with his friends who also cleared the clues or they will be killed in the OASIS and also in the reality?

 

 

Confession:

While reading the few first chapters of this book, I imagined it same as the anime Sword Art Online, but more technically advanced and updated. The setting is not far from the present, yet not close enough to be real soon.

The characters’ personality were cliché. Still, I like Aech. I like it more when they’re together online than Perzival and Art3mis. However, I don’t like Perzival even if he’s the main superhero in that world because he’s too technical in terminologies. Since the narration was from his point of view, I had a hard time dealing with the other words. Fortunately, context clue worked.

This novel kept me reading until the end without skipping even a page. Especially when hell breaks loose, the moment when they have to log out and run for their lives and hide. while figuring out what’s happening in the real world since they’re busy looking for the treasure online.

It’s actually nice. It’s just that I have noticed some parts where the narrator talks about the OASIS as the best game ever in the world which he stated already in the previous chapters. Although he uses different words, phrases, or lines still, the meaning and interpretation are the same.

The book is also like a narrated dictionary for which it described the games in detail. It might be boring for some, but I find it very interesting ’cause I was playing computer games before and reading some good games (might be developed or not) in this novel made me felt that I was left behind too far from today’s gaming.

The romance side is just one-fourth of the whole story. I wished there’s more, though. (Wait. What? I am not a romance story lover. Take it back.) It actually made me smile. I like Perzival and Art3mis’ “online love affair”. I rarely like romance scenes, but I guess, the reason why I want more is that the story purposely wants the readers to ask for more.

Anyway, it was cool. I kept on thinking about SAO, except they could log in and out anytime. Still, towards the middle part of the book, I realized that, “yeah, it just seemed SAO but way more different from it”.

It’s a nice read though some technical words would be brain cracking.

