“Always do what you’re afraid to do.”

-E. Lockhart

In a private island, there’s a very distinguished family. Four people brought a disaster. A damaged girl will soon to reveal what the family is hiding. Something that she can only know and her other friends can only explain.

But how could she do it if everything was a secret?

 

Confession:

First off, I am not fond of any romance stories. This book’s “romance” side isn’t too much for my liking. Some may like the book, some may not. I cannot say that I didn’t like the book because the moment I was able to read it chapter by chapter, it at least hooked me ‘till the end. It might not be too much compared to the other book I’ve read, but somewhere in Lockhart’s words, it convinced me.

However, each chapter is a bit confusing, not because it’s the plot, it is because it was too straightforward and it feels like I am jumping from scenes to scenes even if I am reading word per word of it. I don’t know if it’s her writing style (since this is her first book that I welcomed to absorb), or it was how the book should be based on its plot.

I have no favorite character in this book. They’re just too confusing and annoying for me. But I really love the part where everything got cleared. It explains why I felt that way to the characters. It made sense from the beginning to end.

The twist wasn’t big, though, just a cliche one. But I wasn’t able to guess it even if I’ve read each chapter. I was fooled to think that there’s not even unique to the way the story was narrated or a climax that would make me read to the end. Its mystery slipped into my mind and my eyes. It’s like the author is hiding that ending to readers and didn’t even give hints. Rather, she emphasized the other side of the story to lure the readers into the ordinary world which usually have an ordinary ending.

I also like the way she wrote a metaphor which is a symbol; like a hint of what the chapter may be about without feeding off the secret.

We Were Liars is not a breathtaking book that will make you excited. It somehow will make you bored yet gives you a satisfying result, but not a satisfying urge to end the story.

