“It is so hard to leave—until you leave. And then it is the easiest goddamned thing in the world.”

-John Green

Margo Roth Spiegelman. The only girl Quentin Jacobsen loved for forever. Despite their differences, when Margo climbed on his window with her ninja suit and asking him to come with her, his long-hidden love for her came rushing through his heart. That same night, he gradually entered Margo’s adventurous life as she takes a revenge on her ex-boyfriend’s car.

After that unforgettable night on Q’s part, he then realized that Margo’s not at school. It’s natural for some people, but for him it’s different. For the first time in his life he felt that there’s something wrong and it was proven by the clues Margo left for him, or so he thought.

Will  Quentin find the living mystery behind Margo’s disappearance?

 

 

Confession:

I like how John Grene wrote this story. It wasn’t hard to understand yet, it wasn’t too easy to read for me to get disappointed.

Paper Towns wasn’t as great as other novels that one could read. It wasn’t new as one could ever have thought of. People with so much confident and those who are not looking beyond what our naked eyes could see, won’t realized that Paper Towns was somehow a scream from hidden voices of a person.I mean, each character is like saying something behind their actions and lines and one of which is their “deep dark realization” about life and the world. It was a clear mirror of someone who was never been bothered to see things in different perspective. It was about saying how we cared for someone for how we see them. But not caring on seeing who they really are beneath what they show us. Why? Because we don’t really care that much to dig deeper.

What I mean is that each character is like saying something behind their actions and lines and one of which is their “deep dark realization” about life and the world. It was a clear mirror of someone who was never been bothered to see things in different perspective. It was about saying how we cared for someone for how we see them. But not caring on seeing who they really are beneath what they show us. Why? Because we don’t really care that much to dig deeper.

The most exciting part and my favorite were when Quentin tries to understand and search for Margo according to the clues he had found. This is where I remembered the saying ‘we appreciate the things when it’s gone’ because Quentin realized that she still is in love with Margo when she was gone. Therefore, he will do everything just to get reunited with her.

However, the way Quentin understood the clues is just too fast which seemed like he has aways been doing that for a long time, considering that he only had a one-time moment with Margo. This might be the power of his feelings for her in this novel. But for me, it’s already seemed real, yet the way the clues had been decoded was too scripted for me. Totally kills the feels!

I found myself with Margo Roth Spiegelman’s character. I have this excitement inside me whenever I plan on travelling and leaving, making all of the people I’ve met as part of my memories. Just memories. Be gone and start over. But Margo did it while I was always being dragged back when I’m about to do it which I think the same problem most people have. So, they end up accepting the loop-like kind of life.

This book might not be my most favorite one, but it was worth reading.

