“Better to sleep with a sober cannibal than a drunk Christian.”

-Herman Merville

In Merville’s greatest literary piece, a madman was pursuing a war against the huge and unknown creature of the sea.

It’s not an easy fight despite the fact that the moral superiority is on the human side. However, that creature is not just a creature. It is smart like any human but in an animalistic way of getting the predator’s prey.

Will this madman have the upper hand?

 

 

Confession:

This is my first time reading an old well-known novel in previous years. I am being honest with this, I got bored. It seemed like the novel was just a plain flat autobiography of the narrator which I somehow understand since the story was set in the older days of the literary time. Maybe it was narrated in a boring way, but in the old times, it is already witty and entertaining.

I skipped some parts that I think don’t really matter until I reached the middle part when the voyage starts and there’s a prophecy about hunting the whales. I know being in the middle of the sea is boring, you’ll just have to wait and watch fishes below (if there are any), but this part got my attention. I know this is where the story really began (because the first part seemed like an introduction of the characters which is very long).

From there, it turned out challenging to the point that I asked myself, “Am I really reading a worthy book? Should I stop or not?” Yes! The whale got my curiosity too much for me to even think why is it called the ‘Moby Dick or the Whale’.

There are parts that I liked in this book. One of which is when they started the voyage. Second is the first appearance of the creature, and the third is the last part which is some sort of a fight between the madman and the creature.

Favorite character? I don’t think so. The whale maybe?There might be some witty parts, but the larger percentage is that of a textbook style of narration which easily covers up the entertaining part into my mind.

There might be some witty parts, but the larger percentage is that of a textbook style of narration which easily covers up the entertaining part into my mind.

Since it’s like a real autobiography of some sort, there are lessons that I was able to get when I reflected on the personalities of the characters, dialogues, and scenes.

 

PS. In a Heart of the Sea is the titled for the motion picture version of this book.

