“I learned the bad guys are not always bad, the good guys are not always good, and to quote Captain Barbossa, the parameters are like rules, mostly guidelines. And that it takes a little bit of bad boy to fight the evil in the world.”

-Sherrilyn Kenyon & Dianna Love

 

Terri Mitchel is obsessed with giving justice to anyone who has the right to have it, after her mother died because of a vigilante killer. Nathan Drake is spending his life protecting his family, a drug dealer came to his path and kill every single one of the people he loved. Both have almost the same experience and reason why they want to save innocent lives and bring them to justice, but their way of knowing and getting their goal is different.

Getting deeper into the realm of drug dealings, friends and acquaintances are such a questionable people to be trusted.

Will both of them succeed or one should join the other cause?

 

 

 

Confession:

I don’t know if this book falls under mystery/thriller genre, but as soon as I’ve done reading it, I can say that it is somewhat a mystery and more of an action-romance story.

I can’t stop making or creating my own hypothesis on who’s good and a traitor. I did a good job finding the culprit but wasn’t able to guess his purpose which is way deeper than I thought.

I like how the authors put justice on their characters, dead or alive. They put a lot of death cases and scenarios which seemed nothing but a kind of an accessory to the plot. However, the truth is those deaths hold the clues that the protagonist needed to solve the problem.

On the contrary, I didn’t like the ending not because it’s tragic or happy as expected, but because there are questions and parts that aren’t answered. Maybe they did it on purpose, though. Still, I have to read the other series of this book to find that out which was focused on the lives of a new different character. They are just connected.

It made me kept reading because of its natural way of giving hints to solve the crime (it is not forced into the story), and at the same time, it’s because of the way the author narrate the scenes and especially the thought of their characters. Smooth execution.

For the action-romance part, it didn’t fail to make me smile especially for reading their thoughts. For top agents in the country, they’re both a fool in a funny way. They always put an effort to push each other yet, they end up wanting to be together.

Maybe the study about ‘falling deeply for someone who’s with you in your most dangerous moment’ can be considered as the manifestation of love at first sight. This is how they got involved with each other.

Love at first sight is real, not just in a common way we’ve known it. So far, they’re my favorite characters and their moments together are the best part. They entertained me and gave me a thrilling adventure in their story. I kept wanting more, btu unfortunately, the next few books will have different main characters and these two will only be an extra to another’s life story.

If you want to read a book that you’ll get excited and make you think like an agent (or I am just assuming that I actually felt like an agent?) this book is the one for you.

