“I don’t consider myself a moral man. I do not philosophize about life or bother with laws and principles that govern most people. I do not pretend to know the difference between right and wrong. But I do live by a certain kind of code. And somethimes, I think, you have how to shoot first.”

-Tahereh Mafi

Juliette is a girl who was imprisoned for being dangerous. In just one touch, she can destroy anything under the sun. Following her adventure and romantic scenes, Unite Me followed the trilogy. It is narrated in between the three books which contain the point of view of Adam (Fracture Me) and Warner (Destroy Me) – the men in Juliette’s life.

Who will she choose? Is it Adam or Warner?

 

 

Confession:

Even before I read this, I am in love with Warner than the other one Adam. It is because while reading the main novel I knew, even just a little, Warner’s heart is pure, that he really is really in love with Juliette even if the others see it as pretending.

Now that I have read this book, my heart broke. Somehow, I see myself with Warner, then see myself with Juliette (when dealing with my depression), and having these two characters to be together is like understanding myself. I don’t have to be someone who has specific attitude or mood because I am human. I am entitled to have different moods, have attitudes, and express what I am feeling each time in a day. I can’t be happy or be depressed all the time. That’s what this story taught me.

I like the part when Juliette started to feel a bit comfortable around Warner yet, in denial of his true intentions. Also, the part where Warner is getting overly happy with Juliette by his side whether he expressed it through violence or not.

The only thing that this side story book turns me off is when the point of view started from the beginning of the novel. There had been no an additional scene which didn’t happen with Juliette and Warner together in the novel. This side story is literally about the point of view of Adam and Warner to almost the same scenes in the trilogy. So, I had to focus on the dialogues than the narration.

I don’t really like reading the point of view of the characters in the novel because I wanna see how the characters improved through the novel itself and not through a side story. But this book is an exception. I like reading more about Warner since in the novel it seemed his moments are not enough to understand the sudden change of his heart. Obviously, he is my favorite character in the novel.

Most importantly, reading his point of view is like knowing myself, well my other self since I am made up of onion, there’s a lot of layers to be peeled off before knowing who I really am.

