“You don’t know me. You know one me, just like I know one you. And you can’t know every me, and I can’t know every you.”

-David Levithan

Evan started to receive photographs of him – in different places and angle. Someone is stalking him, messing with his feelings for Ariel, his long-gone best friend. Night by night, he can’t even sleep thinking that maybe, even the slightest possibility, he contributed to the reason why Ariel was gone. He did something that made her leave. He even thought that Ariel is behind all these photographs that were torturing him deep inside.

Can he unravel the mystery of this photographs and find the answers to why him?

 

 

Confession:

I like how David incorporated the photos to the story, especially knowing how he came up with the idea of a photographic novel.

It’s easy-read. Some chapters have short passages or sometimes it was just one paragraph describing how the character – Evan- felt.

Since the book was about him and his relationship with a friend, I love how the author portrayed him in a very relatable way directly or indirectly to the readers. The lines are not just words, but it has a meaning. David wanted to share a lesson with his readers about the true meaning of friendship.

Every part of this book was short yet, very emotional. There’s nothing to be bored of or even to not like. It didn’t make me cry, though. But the thought of someone having these feelings of confusion between doing the right thing and betraying a friend is not easy to take. It shows how one can be on the right side, yet his conscience is contradicting his decision.

No one can know me better than I do. But sometimes, the least part of ourselves is the most important one for others to understand us, and to be able to have a bond with us. It doesn’t mean that I have to just let them guess everything on my mind. I also have to share some parts of me. That’s one of the things I’ve learned while reading this book.

The book might just have a fictional plot, describing photographs or the guy on the book cover, but it taught something to the readers: to know the person on the other side of the mirror.

