The way he looked at you? He wasn’t distracted. He was consumed.

-Stephanie Perkins

 

 

Isla is attending school in Paris with the senator’s son named Joshua who’s a talented artist and also Isla’s long-time crush.

Suddenly, she runs into him at one café and they started talking. Kurt, Isla’s best friend doesn’t like the idea of her hanging out with Joshua. But Isla’s feelings for Joshua is deeper than their friendship which leads them to start dating.

However, conflicts arises between their relationship because of Joshua’s personal issues and his family’s status in the society.

Will they stay together happily ever after or their story was just a wonderful memory for both of them?

 

Confession:

The first thing that comes to my mind is the word “cliche” after reading the first few chapters of Isla and the Happily ever after.

It’s this normal story line girl meets boy. The boy loves the girl. They lived happily ever after.

Still, there are few parts that I liked and dislike, too.

I like the part where Kurt and Isla were talking about Joshua. It’s the most common issues between best friends when someone else comes into the picture, and the best friend should also be friends with the new guy in their so-called own universe. Sometimes this case is not a problem due to their flexibility to adjust from dealing with one person to another, but it does not apply to the others.

Also, the fact that Kurt can’t hide his displeasure to someone which makes it hard for him to work on her facial expression, made me thought of myself. It was the same problem for me. However, after months of training, I was able to lessen it. At least.

Kurt isn’t my favorite character and I don’t think I have one, but he’s the closest character I can see myself with.

While reading it until the half of the book, I suddenly felt like it also have this ‘all-time-favorites-novel/movie’ feels. The pain when you were watching the film A Walk to Remember, Titanic, Edward Scissorhands etc. However, reaching the end of the novel made me think twice. In my opinion, as I compared it to other novels I’ve read with deeper conflicts, the conflict and twist in the book Isla and the Happily Ever After is actually too soft to have that kind of flow or feels.

Thinking deeper while observing people, I can see that the main focus of the novel is targeting teenagers in their early relationships. How two people got together, separated, and got together again; that having a crush on someone for years without being noticed is not going to be forever.

This kind of novel is not my forte to give a review, but I have a few friends who really liked this book. So, I guess if you’re looking for something that’s cheesy-romantic-cliche stories, then this book is one of them. But I don’t mean it in a bad way.

