I’m telling you, if you’ve earned people’s trust and work as a team, there’s nothing you can’t accomplish.

-James Klise

 

 

Saba Khan’s family was from Pakistan and she struggles on getting along with the other kids in her school because they are considered as low-income immigrants. Despite that, she has friends who loved her for playing tennis and no one discriminate her background for that.

One day, she wouldn’t think that they would be lower than they are now when their house lit on fire. Fire investigator confirms it was an arson, but her family knew that wasn’t the case.

The Khan’s had a hard time putting back their shattered pieces, but they are grateful for the people who are helping them, but there are some people who criticize them especially when another disaster happened which is supposedly a fundraising event for the Khans.

Lies. Deception. Hope. These are the emotions that surround the Khan family. Will they be able to really go back to their normal lives or the disasters will keep coming to their way and won’t let them start over?

 

 

Confession:

The title and the cover seemed very intriguing which makes me bought it in the store even without reading the first page.

But I didn’t regret it. It was easy to read, yet full of intriguing scenes which may be happening to anyone.

Written in different point-of-view per chapter which is not confusing due to the tone and approach used in each POV.

It’s funny because it took me awhile to finally figure out why it feels so different and awkward especially when the author used a different approached for describing the character’s action.

Each chapter was supposedly talking to the reader. Not just in a conversational tone way, but actually involving the reader into the story. As a reader, I have many roles which are significant to understand each character.

My favorite character is Kendra Spoon. It is because she’s very creative in a lot of things and can also be persuasive. She always sees something good in anything that can make her and the other people reach their hands to their fellow citizens. I liked the people who have a passion for helping others even if they reject it. She has her way through words. It is not easy to persuade people, for me, because sometimes they see it like I pity them even if I don’t. It might be the same way why Saba didn’t like the idea of fundraising at first, but end up saying ‘yes’.

It was a bit of cliché but I really don’t like Davinski. One reason is he’s a giant, and two, he’s this typical basketball heartthrob who’s not good at anything except playing girls and basketball. Usually, this kind of people is not always highlighted, it’s either the opposite of them is the main character or there’s the same heartthrob role, good at sports, but good at studying too. He might not be the main character in the book, but since the approach is different from the other books, he seemed to be highlighted which made him too on the spot.

It was a bit funny sometimes when I’m about to read the next chapter. It’s because thinking that the approach is conversational, it sounded to me like it’s a one-way communication wherein the only one who’s talking is the character in the book. I have no time to even recall things being said for me to recall (as a reader and as a character which each character is talking to).

Also because of this approach, there is this disadvantage of having a slow-phasing novel and it got me to the edge. I want to know what happened to the fire, where the painting is, and what will happen to everything, but all I can do is to read and read and read until I lose my patience. Still, I was able to finish the book and thank goodness I was done.

Easy-read. Check.

Mysterious and dark. Not so much.

Cliché. I think so.

Challenging. YES.

